Lake Titicaca is a body of water located in the Andean Altiplano, in the central Andes at an average altitude of 3812 meters above sea level between the territories of Bolivia and Peru. It has an area of 8562 square kilometers of which 56% (4772 km²) correspond to Peru and 44% (3790 km²) in Bolivia and 1125 km of coastline; its maximum depth is estimated at 281 m and its average depth is estimated at 107 m. Its level is irregular and increases during the austral summer.
Lake Titicaca is among the Andean mountains in a basin of about 58,000 square kilometers.
It is the highest navigable lake in the world and ranks 19th in the world by surface.
The average annual temperature of the lake is 13 ° C, while the climate in the lake region is of extreme nature, with large temperature variations that are accentuated according to the remoteness of the lake and increased height. The rainfall increases in the months of austral summer (December to March) and drástricamente falls in the winter months (April to November). In summer there are frequent storms on the lake and the surrounding area as well as flooding in areas level 0 on the lake.


Titicaca waters are limpid and only slightly brackish, with salinity ranging from 5.2 to 5.5 parts per 1000. The physical and chemical characteristics water of Lake Titicaca have been the subject of specific observations in the course of scientific expeditions and then data over much longer periods.
In particular the inner Puno Bay is polluted water following discharges of wastewater from the city of Puno without proper treatment.


-Tiquina Strait: is formed between the peninsulas of Copacabana and Huata, and divides into two Titicaca Lake, the largest lake and lower lake Chucuito Huiñaymarka. It has a width of 780 meters, and the absence of a bridge between the two sides, the movement of persons and vehicles is done in motor boats.
-Isthmus of Yunguyo, is the isthmus that connects the peninsula with the mainland Copacabana. To the south of the Isthmus of Yunguyo Khapia or Apu Khapia the hill, which has a sacred character from times of Tiwanaku rises.
-Capachica Peninsula, is located west of Lake Titicaca and along with the form Chucuito peninsula Puno Bay.
-Copacabana Peninsula, is divided between the Peruvian side (south) and the Bolivian side (north) and with the peninsula of Huata form the Strait of Tiquina on the Bolivian side of the lake. In the northern part of the peninsula Yampupata Copacabana peninsula forms in Bolivian territory, the strait that forms between the island of the Sun and Yampupata Peninsula it is known as Yampupata Strait.
-Chucuito Peninsula, is located west of Lake Titicaca and along with the peninsula Capachica form Puno Bay.
-Huata Peninsula, is the largest of the peninsulas of Lake Titicaca and forms the Gulf of Achacachi. This peninsula is entirely located on the Bolivian side of the lake.
-Taraco Peninsula: Located in the lower lake Huiñaymarka in the Bolivian lake area. South of the Gulf of Taraco it is formed.


Among the most renowned beaches are Capachica, Chifrón, Ccotos, Charcas, Chatuma and Juli, located more than 3850 meters above sea level in the department of Puno, on the Peruvian side and the famous Copacabana beach, on the Bolivian side.


• Amantaní
• Bell tower
• Chelleca
• Chirita 1
• Chirita 2
• Chiquipa
• Esteves
• Jochihuata
• Moon Island
• Cojata
•Sun `s Island
• Soto
• Suasi
• Suriqui
• Taquile
• floating Uros Islands